Dane Eagle kicking off HD 77 re-election bid May 16

Florida Politics

Click Here to Read Online

Republican Rep. Dane Eagle is launching his final re-election campaign for the Florida House with a fundraiser in Cape Coral later this month.

The event is being hosted by real estate broker and former Republican Rep. Gary Aubuchon and his wife Andrea as well as Jacque and Jeff Miloff. The fundraiser will be held May 16 at the Team Aubuchon offices, 4707 SE 9th Place, from 5:30 p.m. to 7 p.m.

Eagle said his three terms representing the Lee County-based district has “been the honor of a lifetime” when he announced the fundraiser.

“Fortunately we have term limits here in the Great State of Florida, but we’re not done just yet! Please join us as we kickoff my final re-election campaign for the Florida House of Representatives,” he said. “We’ll be discussing the great work we’ve accomplished together and sharing our plans for the next two years. Food and beverages will be provided by two of Southwest Florida’s finest establishments. I look forward to seeing you there!”

More than 100 names are listed on the host committee for the event, including several Republican electeds. Among those slated to attend is CFO Jimmy Patronis, CD 19 U.S. Rep. Francis Rooney, Fort Myers state Sen. Lizbeth Benacquisto, Lee County Sheriff Mike Scott and State Attorney Steve Russel.

Supporters can RSVP by sending a note to Terry Miller at Terry@DaneEagle.com or by calling (239) 980-2224.

Democrat Michael David Garcia opened a campaign account to challenge Eagle last week, though he would face long odds even if Eagle weren’t a prolific fundraiser — through March he’d already raised nearly $115,000 for his re-election bid and had $27,312 in the bank.

The Southwest Florida district is a Republican stronghold that covers Cape Coral and extends to the northern border of Lee County. Republicans make up 43 percent of the HD 77 electorate compared to a 26 percent share for Democrats.

Eagle has had little trouble holding onto his seat since he was first elected in 2012. He took more than 60 percent of the vote in his first campaign and defended his seat in a four-way Republican Primary in 2014 before cruising past a write-in in the general election. In 2016, he was re-elected without opposition.


Posted by Michael Dornetshuber

Leave a Reply